Hermann Appel Prize 2008

IAV Award Goes to Junior Automotive Development Engineers

Hermann-Appel-Preis 2008Berlin. An independent panel of judges awards the 2008 Hermann Appel Prize to seven budding automotive development engineers. Staged by IAV, Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr, the award carries prize money totaling € 18,000. Once a year, it goes to outstanding diploma theses and doctoral dissertations focusing on the subject of electronics, powertrain and vehicle development. The prize-giving ceremony took place in Berlin on November 27, 2008.

In electronics development, the dissertation-category prize went to Dipl.-Ing. Jens Pfeiffer (Munich University of Technology) for his non-linear system to control a diesel-engine air path with gain scheduling and input/output linearization. Dr.-Ing. Rocco Deutschmann (Dresden University of Technology) received the Hermann Appel Prize for his dissertation on semiformal methods for automatically testing embedded systems.

The diploma-thesis prize for work on powertrain development went to Dipl.-Ing. Florian Dost (Berlin University of Technology). He compared and evaluated fuels gained from vegetable oils. The dissertation-category award was given to Dr.-Ing. Ingo Friedrich (Berlin University of Technology) who devoted attention to real-time engine-process simulation – fundamental and potential applications.

At degree thesis level in the vehicle-development segment, the Hermann Appel Prize was awarded to Dipl.-Ing. Frieder Neukamm (Stuttgart University) for his studies into modeling damage for the integral process chain of deformation and crash simulation. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Schorn (Darmstadt University of Technology) took the prize for his doctoral dissertation on "Transversal and longitudinal control of a passenger car for an accident-preventing driver-assistance system".

 Dr. Rocco Deutschmann, Dr.The adjudicating panel also awarded a special prize to Dr.-Ing. Thomas Christ (Berlin University of Technology) for his doctoral dissertation on recuperating energy in motor-vehicle electrical systems.

"Awarding the Hermann Appel Prize, our aim is to give future engineers the motivation to produce outstanding achievements and deepen the co-operation and partnership between science and industry", explains Kurt Blumenröder, IAV President and CEO.

Set up in 1983 by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Appel and now employing over 3,000 members of staff, IAV is one of the world’s leading engineering providers to the automotive industry. IAV’s work portfolio covers all of the phases involved in automotive electronics, powertrain and vehicle development. The spectrum ranges from research and advance development to complex development contracts for mass production. Company clients include all premier automobile manufacturers and their suppliers.