IAV Awards Hermann Appel Prize to Young Talented Engineers

November 8, 2012 // IAV is awarding the ninth Hermann Appel Prize which this year goes to seven outstanding junior engineers. The prize-winning works address current issues in automobile development and innovative technologies. Ways of optimizing patient comfort in ambulances, for instance, are among the subjects examined.

 Tobias Schnelle, Dr. Lars Zigan, Alexander Lampe, Sebastian Damm, Dr. Tobias Carsten Müller, Tillmann Meier, Georg Winkler

Today there are few studies that deal with patient comfort in ambulances. Receiving a special prize, this is the subject that is analyzed in the diploma thesis written by Sebastian Damm from Braunschweig University of Technology. Proceeding from full-vehicle tests and simulations, he  examined three ambulances and five stretcher tables to find out which vibrations and movements a patient is exposed to while the vehicle is moving.

A method commonly used for evaluating perceptible vibration and a personally developed parameter for measuring the vehicle’s relative movement around the patient provided information on comfort during transportation. The results show that modern stretcher tables can improve comfort by 17 to 51 percent and demonstrate how wheel suspension and stretcher-table springing interact. Using a simulation model it is also possible to examine how comfort changes in relation to the spring and shock-absorber components in the chassis and position of the stretcher table in the vehicle.

Apart from Sebastian Damm, a special prize also went to Alexander Lampe from Berlin University of Technology for his Bachelor’s degree dissertation on “Optimizing an HEV operating strategy “.

Hermann Appel Prizes in Three Areas

The Hermann Appel Prize is awarded in three areas, each in the categories of Bachelor’s / Master’s degree dissertation as well as doctoral thesis.

In the “Electronics Development” area, Dr. Tobias Carsten Müller received a prize for his dissertation on “Neural Models for Off-Board Diagnostics in Complex Vehicle Systems” (Carolo-Wilhelmina University of Technology in Braunschweig). The diploma thesis “Configuring and Starting up an Active B6C Rectifier” by Tobias Schnelle was also awarded a prize (Chemnitz University of Technology).

In the “Powertrain Development” area, an award went to the dissertation on “Laser Diagnostic and Numerical Investigations on the Influence of Fuel Composition on Spray Formation in Direct Gasoline Injection” by Dr. Lars Zigan (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg). Georg Winkler (Graz University of Technology) received a prize for his diploma thesis entitled “Study of EGR Stratification in the Supercharged Diesel Engine”.

In the “Vehicle Development” area, Tillmann Meier was given an award for his diploma thesis on “Analyzing the Market Potential for an Innovative Air-Conditioning System Based on the Example of the CoolSteam Combined Cooling, Heating and Power System in Bus and Rail Transport” (Berlin University of Technology).

The prizes are worth a total of € 15,000 and are given in memory of IAV’s founder Professor Hermann Appel (1932 - 2002). The jury includes experts from automobile manufacturers, components suppliers and universities. The call for entries for the 2013 Hermann Appel Prize will be getting underway in January with a closing deadline of June 30.

Prize-giving ceremony on November 8:

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences
Markgrafenstraße 38
10117 Berlin

For further information on the Hermann Appel Prize go to: