IAV awards the Hermann Appel Prize to seven young engineers

November 14, 2014 // Berlin. Yesterday, IAV awarded the Hermann Appel Prize to seven outstanding young engineers. The theses submitted by these two young women and five young men for their Bachelor, Diploma, Masters and PhD degrees stand out with an innovative approach together with high scientific relevance and industrial applicability. This is the eleventh time that IAV has awarded the prize endowed with altogether 15,000 Euros.

Dr. Christoph Gabriel, Dennis Kunz, B.Sc., Mark Schudeleit, M. Sc., Nina Loof, M. Sc., Andreas Höfer, M. Sc., Julia Hempel, M. Sc.  und Dr. Friedrich Brezger.

This year's award ceremony was held in the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities on Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin with around 130 guests in attendance. The winners received their awards from the members of the jury: Professor Volker Schindler (Berlin University of Technology, Head of the Automotive Engineering Institute), Professor Dr. Burghard Voß (IAV, Senior Vice-President for Hybrid and Transmission Systems), Udo Wehner (IAV, Executive Vice-President for Integral Vehicle Functions) and Christian Müller-Bagehl (IAV, Executive Vice-President for Cockpit & Interior, Product Life Cycle and Mobility). The Hermann Appel Prize is awarded in three areas, together with a special prize for an outstanding Bachelor thesis. 

An award in the field of Future Mobility was presented to:

  • Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Höfer for his Diploma thesis entitled "Conception and Development of a Last Mile Vehicle: From the Concept to the Prototype" Munich University of Techology, Professor Dr.-Ing. M. Lienkamp)

Awards in the field of Powertrain Development were presented to:

  • Nina Loof, M.Sc., for her Master's thesis entitled "Sensorless Control of a Permanently Excited Synchronous Machine in the Powertrain of a Hybrid Vehicle" (Dresden University of Applied Sciences, Professor Dr.-Ing. N. Michalke)
  • Mark Schudeleit, M.Sc., for his Master's thesis entitled "Simulating the Representative CO2 and Pollution Emissions for a P2 Hybrid" (Braunschweig University of Technology, Professor Dr.-Ing. F. Kücükay)
  • Dr. Friedrich Brezger for his PhD thesis entitled "New Methods for the Further Development of Hybrid Powertrains for Enhancing Energy Efficiency" (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Professor Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. A. Albers)

Awards in the field of Vehicle Development were presented to:

  • Julia Hempel, M.Sc., for her Master's thesis entitled "Development of a Method for Detecting Driver Distraction Based on Driver Operation Actions" (Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Professor Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Preim)
  • Dr. Christoph Gabriel for his PhD thesis entitled "Simulation and Measurement Methods for Predicting Flow-Induced Noise in the Passenger Compartment of a Passenger Car" (Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Professor Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Lerch)

The Bachelor prize was awarded to:

  • Dennis Kunz, B.Sc., for his Bachelor's thesis entitled "Modeling and Simulation of a Bidirectional Charging Device for Electric Vehicles in the Smart Power Grid" (Munich University of Applied Sciences, Professor Dr. Dirk Hirschmann)

IAV awards the prize in honor of Professor Dr. Hermann Appel, who founded the company 30 years ago as Head of the Institute for Automotive Engineering at Berlin University of Technology. The award is presented to undergraduate and postgraduate students who stand out with their innovative ideas and excellent achievements. The jury is chaired by Professor Dr. Volker Schindler (TU Berlin). 

Other members include Dr. Mark Gonter (Volkswagen), Thomas Meißner (Berlin-Partner), Professor Dr. Roland Baar (Berlin University of Technology), Michael Reichenbach (Deputy Senior Editor ATZ/MTZ) and Thomas Papenheim (IAV).

The call for submissions for the next Hermann Appel Prize will be issued in January 2015.