Hermann Appel Prize 2007

12/12/2007 // IAV Gives Awards to Young Automotive Development Engineers

Hermann Appel Prize 2007An independent panel of judges has awarded the 2007 Hermann Appel Prize to seven young automotive engineers. The prize is sponsored by IAV, Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr, and comes with prize money totaling € 18,000.

It is awarded every year for outstanding theses and doctoral dissertations from the fields of electronics, powertrain and vehicle development. The prize-giving ceremony took place on November 28, 2007 in Berlin.

In the thesis category of the electronics development section, Dipl.-Ing. Hartmut Siewert (Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel University of Applied Sciences) was given the award for his design of a central communication unit for the FI2RE development control unit. Dr.-Ing. Ulf Lezius (University of Rostock) received the Hermann Appel Prize for his dissertation on ways of improving knock control in cylinder-pressure-based engine management systems.

Dipl.-Ing. Christian Weiss (Ingolstadt University of Applied Sciences) won the powertrain development thesis category. He has developed a measurement engine for analyzing timing-chain friction. The prize in the dissertation category went to Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Rakowski (University of Hanover) for his work on multi-component evaporation and flash-boiling modeling.

In the vehicle development field, Dipl.-Ing. Alexandra Schulz (Berlin University of Technology) was awarded the Hermann Appel Prize in the thesis category for her analysis of driver behavior for producing adaptive intervention strategies for assistance systems. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Hecht (Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen and Nuremberg) won the award for his dissertation on the subject of “Material Characterization and Process Design for Active-Medium-Based Double Sheet Forming of Magnesium Alloys”.

The panel also awarded a special prize to Dipl.-Ing. Sebastian Ohl (Braunschweig University of Technology) for his thesis on the development of multi-sensor data fusion for an autonomous road vehicle.

“Awarding the Hermann Appel Prize, our aim is to give future engineers the motivation to produce outstanding achievements and deepen the co-operation and partnership between science and industry", explains Kurt Blumenröder, IAV President and CEO.

Established in 1983 by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Appel and now employing over 3,000 members of staff, IAV is one of the world’s leading engineering providers to the automotive industry. IAV’s work portfolio covers all of the phases involved in automotive electronics, powertrain and vehicle development. The spectrum ranges from research and advance engineering to complex development contracts for mass production. Its clients include all premier automobile manufacturers and their suppliers.