• European First in Stollberg: 40-Ton Truck, All-Electric

    From the outside, they look like regular trucks – but on the inside, they are brimming with the future: IAV is working with partners under the eJIT project to transition logistics towards electric drives. Presented at Stollberg in mid-June, the first two 40-ton trucks will be on the road in Leipzig and Zwickau. Their drivers are already well-impressed.Big media hype at IAV’s Chemnitz/Stollberg Development Center: many journalists wanted to be (...). More

    European First in Stollberg: 40-Ton Truck, All-Electric
  • Maximum Comfort from Minimal Control Input

    For the one individual, it is too hot. For the other it is just right. And when a breath of fresh air is very welcome for one person, another complains about a draft. One thing is certain: comfort is a very personal thing, and also depends on how the individual feels on a given day. High time, therefore, to take a closer look at this subject and develop new solutions – such as a new concept for operating the air-conditioning and a smart, innovative (...). More

    Maximum Comfort from Minimal Control Input
  • Access Successfully Denied

    How do you prevent access to the technical systems in the vehicle and to the user’s personal information? This is a subject IAV is focusing much attention on – because in the light of increasing car connectivity, security and privacy will become key selling points in future. Many tried and proven concepts from the world of IT can be applied to the vehicle. Initial prototype implementations show how sensitive data can be protected.Vehicles have (...). More

    Access Successfully Denied
  • IAV Opens New Crash Test Facility in Southern Germany

    IAV’s new crash test facility in Großmehring near Ingolstadt has been in operation since August. Besides head-on collisions, it can be used for conducting rollover tests and is also suitable for testing electric vehicles. With test vehicles being delivered into a closed building and with three strictly separated customer areas, maximum confidentiality is guaranteed. In spite of its comprehensive technical outfit, it was possible to complete the (...). More

    IAV Opens New Crash Test Facility in Southern Germany
  • Engineering 4.0: Digitalization of the Powertrain Calibration

    The end of 2017 is about to see the introduction of new RDE regulations for passenger cars that also prescribe emission limits in real-world road traffic over a broad vehicle operating range and demand they be reliably met. This means automobile manufacturers must cover a much wider spectrum of driving situations in engine calibration. All told, this will significantly boost the work involved in testing and validation as many more parameters will have (...). More

    Engineering 4.0: Digitalization of the Powertrain Calibration
  • “Our Customers’ Success is Our Success Too”

    Developers are under great pressure. Shorter product cycles, more derivatives and digitization, or the growing data volumes associated with it, are some of the major challenges facing developers. Today, this makes it all the more important for them to have first-class development tools that provide room for creativity. On the occasion of IAV’s participation in Testing Expo in June, Utz-Jens Beister, IAV Senior Vice President for Product Solutions, (...). More

    “Our Customers’ Success is Our Success Too”
  • Emission Conformity in All Situations

    The diesel engine needs to be even cleaner in future and reliably meet the stringent EU6 limit values in all situations. In a concept study, IAV has examined approaches that promise to do precisely this: various particularly closed-coupled exhaust gas aftertreatment layouts allow DOC and DPF/SCR to reach optimum working temperature more quickly which, even when driving in the low-load range, significantly cuts emissions.Under the EU6 standard, diesel (...). More

    Emission Conformity in All Situations
  • Development Booster for the Turbocharger

    The market for turbochargers is growing on a massive scale: The increasing diversity of vehicle models makes it necessary to adapt supercharging systems to suit more and more engine variants. Tailor-made solutions of this type are increasing development effort which is why IAV is rethinking its methodology and has linked numerous standalone tools. This is producing better results in a shorter time.In developing turbocharger systems, IAV is right at (...). More

    Development Booster for the Turbocharger
  • “We Must Breathe Life into Customer Relations”

    The automotive industry is facing radical changes. Traditional functions will take a back seat, progress will manifest itself in new functionalities. Besides autonomous driving, connectivity is at the focus of the automotive industry. In an interview with Hilmar Dunker, editor-in-chief of automotive IT, Pietro Hagemann, Chief Sales Officer at Concardis, Timm Kellermann, Managing Director of Consulting4Drive – IAV’s consultancy business - and (...). More

    “We Must Breathe Life into Customer Relations”
  • Dedicated Hybrid Transmission for Plug-In Vehicles

    In future, vehicle manufacturers will not be able to meet the pending CO2fleet limit values without electrifying their powertrains. IAV has developed a dedicated hybrid transmission with P2 architecture that manages with fewer components and gear speeds than previous transmissions. However, it still permits a noticeable reduction in consumption and carbon emissions, using among others IAV's systematic powertrain synthesis.CO2 fleet emissions are (...). More

    Dedicated Hybrid Transmission for Plug-In Vehicles
  • Highly Automated Vehicle System on the Way to Real-World Application

    Highly automated vehicles that drive to their destination without any action on the part of the driver will soon become part of everyday street life. One of the biggest technical challenges will be to integrate them into the highly dynamic flow of today’s traffic and, at the same time, ensure maximum safety. As a solution to this, IAV is developing a self-contained overall system that connects vehicle and infrastructure. ITS fleets based on this (...). More

    Highly Automated Vehicle System on the Way to Real-World Application
  • On the Way to Level 5

    Modern driver assist systems, like autonomous cruise control and parking assistance, can intervene in steering, acceleration and deceleration even today. Some test vehicles are already in command of the next stage: highly automated driving. But it will still take a number of years before we will see full automation and cars without a steering wheel.The way to autonomous driving will pass through several levels. At the lowest level (“Level 0”), (...). More

    On the Way to Level 5
  • On the Road with the Digital Assistant

    The Internet of Things is interconnecting more and more devices in all areas of life. This is producing numerous new options for the car to integrate itself even more deeply in the everyday life of its users. IAV is turning these options into actual solutions that are capable of combining different  areas of life and work – for example, the domains of vehicle, home life and intelligent traffic management.In future, the “digital assistant” (...). More

    On the Road with the Digital Assistant

News

  • Making Wind Turbines More EfficientDecember 13, 2017

    A complete revision of the architecture currently used for controlling wind turbines: this is the approach behind the “eco4wind” research project which is based on a partnership between engineering service provider IAV, as lead partner, and Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg, Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg, Ruhr University of Bochum and Senvion GmbH.(...) More

News

  • Looking for the Igniting SparkDecember 2, 2016

    As a result of increasingly strict CO2 limit values, attention is once more focusing on an issue that has been neglected for a while: optimum ignition of the mixture in the cylinder. (...) More

What We Develop Moves You

IAV – Your Partner for Automotive Engineering

As one of the world’s leading engineering partners, IAV is developing tomorrow’s mobility. Our engineering is tried and proven in vehicles from OEMs across the globe. Benefiting from over 35 years of experience and a range of expertise second to none, we combine the best from many different worlds: automotive and IT world, hardware and software world, product and service world.

With over 6,500 members of staff and first-class technical facilities, we assist our customers in realizing their projects at more than 30 IAV operations – from concept to start of production. Our goal: better mobility.

412 Jobs

Are you looking for an employer who can give you flexibility? For your ideas, your development, your career?

To our career pages

• IAV eröffnet neue Crashanlage in Süddeutschland

    Seit August ist die neue IAV-Crashanlage in Großmehring bei Ingolstadt in Betrieb. Neben Frontalcrashs lassen sich Rollover-Versuche durchführen, zudem ist sie für den Test von Elektrofahrzeugen geeignet. Die Anlieferung in einer geschlossenen Halle sowie drei komplett voneinander getrennte Kundenbereiche garantieren maximale Geheimhaltung. Trotz ihrer umfangreichen technischen Ausstattung konnte die Crashanlage in weniger als einem Jahr (...). Mehr

    IAV eröffnet neue Crashanlage in Süddeutschland
  • Zugriff erfolgreich abgewehrt

    Wie verhindert man den Zugriff auf die technischen Systeme im Fahrzeug und auf die persönlichen Informationen des Nutzers? Mit dieser Frage beschäftigt sich IAV intensiv – denn Security und Privacy werden wegen der zunehmenden Vernetzung der Autos in Zukunft zu wichtigen Verkaufsargumenten. Viele bewährte Konzepte aus der IT-Welt lassen sich ins Fahrzeug übertragen. Erste prototypische Implementierungen zeigen, wie sich die sensiblen Daten (...). Mehr

    Zugriff erfolgreich abgewehrt
  • Maximaler Komfort bei minimalem Bedienaufwand

    Was dem einen zu heiß ist, empfindet ein anderer gerade als angenehm. Und wenn einer sich über frische Luft freut, klagt ein anderer über den unangenehmen Zug. Eindeutig ist: Behaglichkeit ist etwas höchst Individuelles und hängt zudem noch von der Tagesform des Menschen ab. Höchste Zeit also, sich intensiver mit diesem Thema zu beschäftigten und neue Lösungen zu entwickeln – etwa ein neues Bedienkonzept für die Klimaanlage und eine (...). Mehr

    Maximaler Komfort bei minimalem Bedienaufwand
  • Europapremiere in Stollberg: 40-Tonner, vollelektrisch

    Von außen sehen sie aus wie normale Lkws – aber in ihrem Inneren steckt die Zukunft: IAV arbeitet gemeinsam mit Partnern im Projekt eJIT daran, die Logistik auf elektrische Antriebe umzustellen. Mitte Juni wurden die beiden ersten 40-Tonner in Stollberg vorgestellt, die künftig in Leipzig und Zwickau unterwegs sein werden. Ihre Fahrer sind jetzt schon begeistert.Großer Medienrummel im IAV-Entwicklungszentrum Chemnitz/Stollberg: Etliche (...). Mehr

    Europapremiere in Stollberg: 40-Tonner, vollelektrisch
  • Engineering 4.0: Digitalisierung der Powertrain-Applikation

    Ab Ende 2017 gelten die neuen RDE-Regularien für Pkw, nach denen Emissionsgrenzen auch im realen Straßenverkehr in einem breiten Betriebsbereich des Fahrzeugs vorgegeben und sicher einzuhalten sind. Die Automobilhersteller müssen dadurch bei der Motorapplikation ein viel größeres Spektrum an Fahrsituationen abdecken. In Summe nimmt der Test- und Absicherungsaufwand erheblich zu, da sehr viel mehr Parameter als bisher parallel zu optimieren (...). Mehr

    Engineering 4.0: Digitalisierung der Powertrain-Applikation
  • „Der Erfolg unserer Kunden ist auch unser Erfolg“

    Entwickler stehen mächtig unter Druck. Kürzere Produktzyklen, mehr Derivate und die Digitalisierung bzw. die damit ansteigenden Datenmengen sind einige der großen Herausforderungen, vor denen Entwickler stehen. Umso wichtiger sind heute erstklassige Entwicklungs­werkzeuge, die Freiräume für Kreativität schaffen. Anlässlich des Auftritts bei der Testing Expo im Juni erklärt Utz-Jens Beister, IAV-Fachbereichsleiter Product Solutions, im (...). Mehr

    „Der Erfolg unserer Kunden ist auch unser Erfolg“
  • In allen Lagen emissionskonform

    Der Dieselmotor muss künftig noch sauberer werden und die strengen EU-6-Grenzwerte unter allen Umständen sicher einhalten. IAV hat in einer Konzeptstudie viel versprechende Ansätze untersucht: Durch verschiedene, besonders motornahe Anordnungen der Abgasnachbehandlung erreichen DOC und DPF/SCR schneller ihre optimale Arbeitstemperatur, was selbst bei Fahrten im niedrigen Lastbereich zu deutlich sinkenden Emissionen führt.Maximal 80 Milligramm (...). Mehr

    In allen Lagen emissionskonform
  • Entwicklungs-Booster für den Turbolader

    Der Markt für Turbolader wächst massiv: Die zunehmende Varianten­vielfalt bei den Fahrzeugen führt dazu, dass die Aufladesysteme an immer mehr Motorvarianten angepasst werden müssen. Solche maßgeschneiderten Lösungen steigern den Entwicklungsaufwand, weshalb IAV seine Methodik überarbeitet und zahlreiche Standalone-Tools miteinander verknüpft hat. Das führt zu besseren Ergebnissen in kürzerer Zeit.Bei der Entwicklung von (...). Mehr

    Entwicklungs-Booster für den Turbolader
  • „Wir müssen die Kundenbeziehung mit Leben füllen“

    Die Automobilindustrie steht vor radikalen Veränderungen. Traditionelle Funktionen treten in den Hintergrund, der Fortschritt manifestiert sich in neuen Funktionalitäten. Neben dem autonomen Fahren gehört die Connectivity zu den Schwerpunkthemen der Automobilindustrie. Im Experteninterview mit Hilmar Dunker, Chefredakteur von automotive IT, sprechen Pietro Hagemann, Chief Sales Officer von Concardis, Timm Kellermann, Geschäftsführer von (...). Mehr

    „Wir müssen die Kundenbeziehung mit Leben füllen“
  • Dediziertes Hybridgetriebe für Plug-In-Fahrzeuge

    Ohne die Elektrifizierung ihrer Antriebsstränge werden die Fahrzeughersteller die kommenden CO2-Flottengrenzwerte nicht einhalten können. IAV hat ein dediziertes Hybridgetriebe in P2-Anordnung entwickelt, das mit weniger Komponenten und Gängen als bisherige Getriebe auskommt, aber dennoch eine spürbare Verringerung des Verbrauchs und der Kohlendioxid-Emissionen ermöglicht. Zum Einsatz kam dabei unter anderem die systematische (...). Mehr

    Dediziertes Hybridgetriebe für Plug-In-Fahrzeuge
  • Auf dem Weg zur Einsatzreife

    Hochautomatisierte Fahrzeuge, die ohne Zutun des Fahrers ihr Ziel ansteuern, werden schon bald zum alltäglichen Straßenbild gehören. Eine der größten technischen Herausforderungen ist dabei, sie in den hochdynamischen Verkehrsfluss heutiger Fahrzeuge zu integrieren und dabei höchste Sicherheit zu gewährleisten. Als Lösung entwickelt IAV ein in sich geschlossenes Gesamtsystem, das Fahrzeug und Infrastruktur miteinander verknüpft. Darauf (...). Mehr

    Hochautomatisiertes Fahrzeugsystem auf dem Weg zur Einsatzreife
  • Auf dem Weg zu Level 5

    Moderne Fahrerassistenzsysteme wie Abstandsregeltempomaten und Einparkassistenten können bereits heute in Lenkung, Beschleunigung und Verzögerung eingreifen. Einige Versuchsfahrzeuge beherrschen schon die nächste Stufe: das hochautomatisierte Fahren. Bis zur Vollautomatisierung und zum Auto ohne Lenkrad wird es aber noch einige Jahre dauern.Der Weg hin zum autonomen Fahren führt über mehrere Stufen: Auf der untersten („Level 0“) hat der (...). Mehr

    Auf dem Weg zu Level 5
  • Unterwegs mit dem digitalen Assistenten

    Das Internet der Dinge vernetzt immer mehr Geräte aus allen Lebensbereichen. Für das Auto ergeben sich dadurch zahlreiche neue Möglichkeiten, sich noch intensiver und tiefer in den Alltag seiner Nutzer zu integrieren. IAV setzt diese Möglichkeiten in konkrete Lösungen um, mit denen sich verschiedene Lebens- und Arbeitsbereiche miteinander verknüpfen lassen – beispielsweise die Domänen Fahrzeug, Wohnen und intelligente Verkehrssteuerung.Der (...). Mehr

    Unterwegs mit dem digitalen Assistenten

Meldungen

Twitter-News

Wir entwickeln, was bewegt

IAV – Ihr Partner für Automotive Engineering

Wir entwickeln, was bewegt. Als einer der global führenden Engineering-Partner entwickelt IAV die Mobilität der Zukunft. Dabei bewährt sich unser Engineering herstellerübergreifend in Fahrzeugen auf der ganzen Welt. Mit mehr als 35 Jahren Erfahrung und einem unübertroffenen Kompetenzspektrum bringen wir das Beste aus unterschiedlichsten Welten zusammen: Automotive- und IT-Welt, Hardware- und Software-Welt, Produkt- und Service-Welt.

Unsere Auftraggeber unterstützen wir an über 30 IAV-Standorten mit mehr als 6.500 Mitarbeitern und einer erstklassigen technischen Ausstattung bei der Realisierung ihrer Projekte – vom Konzept bis zur Serie. Unser Ziel: bessere Mobilität. 

412 Jobs

Sie suchen einen Arbeitgeber, der Ihnen Freiraum gibt? Für Ihre Ideen, Ihre Entwicklung, Ihre Karriere?

Zum Karriere-Bereich