485 Jobs

Smart Guide – Next Level Navigation

IAV’s new navigation concept Smart Guide makes child’s play of finding the right route through unknown cities, without any additional display and without voice announcements.

As in conventional satnavs, the driver enters his/her destination and the Smart Guide calculates the fastest route including the time it will take. At the same time, it also calculates alternative routes in real time that can get to the destination within the time window calculated before. The software keeps updating those routes permanently in relation to the vehicle’s current position and the traffic situation.

The route appears on the windshield: for the driver, it seems to be directly on the road ahead, thanks to augmented reality. Smart Guide therefore does away with the often imprecise voice announcements and unclear route markings on a little display, as is the case with conventional satnav systems.

The system’s real advantages come into play when the driver has to make a detour around unforeseen hindrances. In this case, the driver knows immediately, for example, that the road on the left will lead to the destination within the calculated time window, but not the road on the right.

The Smart Guide also makes it very easy to cope with particularly complex crossroads, traffic roundabouts or unknown multi-lane roads. The driver just has to follow the markings on the windshield to get to his/her destination safely and on time. This reduces stress, avoids abrupt lane changes and also helps to prevent accidents. The Smart Guide by IAV thus raises vehicle navigation to the next level.

Experience Smart Guide and other intelligent solutions for #SmartMobility by IAV at CES 2020, Westgate Paradise Center, Booth 821!

487 Jobs

Smart Guide – Next Level Navigation

Mit dem neuen Navigationskonzept Smart Guide von IAV wird die Suche nach der richtigen Route durch unbekannte Städte zum Kinderspiel, ohne zusätzliche Anzeige und ohne Sprachansagen.

Wie bei herkömmlichen Navigationssystemen gibt der Fahrer sein Ziel ein und Smart Guide berechnet die schnellste Route inklusive der benötigten Fahrzeit. Parallel dazu berechnet es jedoch in Echtzeit mögliche Alternativrouten, die innerhalb des zuvor errechneten Zeitfensters zum Ziel führen. Die Software aktualisiert diese permanent in Abhängigkeit von der aktuellen Position des Fahrzeugs und der Verkehrssituation.

Die Routenführung wird in der Frontscheibe dargestellt – für den Fahrer scheint sie mithilfe von Augmented Reality direkt auf der Straße zu liegen. Damit macht Smart Guide die von herkömmlichen Navigationssystemen bekannten, oft ungenauen Sprachansagen und undeutlichen Wegmarkierungen auf einem kleinen Display überflüssig.

Seine Stärken spielt das System aus, wenn unvorhergesehene Hindernisse umfahren werden müssen. In solchen Fällen weiß der Fahrer beispielsweise sofort, dass auch die Straße zur Linken im berechneten Zeitfenster zum Ziel führt, nicht aber die zur Rechten.

Auch besonders komplexe Kreuzungen, Kreisverkehre oder unbekannte mehrspurige Strecken werden mit Smart Guide spielend einfach überwunden. Der Fahrer braucht nur den entsprechenden Markierungen zu folgen und kommt sicher und rechtzeitig ans Ziel. Das reduziert Stress, vermeidet abrupte Spurwechsel und trägt damit auch zur Unfallvermeidung bei. Damit hebt Smart Guide von IAV die Fahrzeugnavigation auf die nächste Evolutionsstufe.

Erleben Sie den Smart Guide und weitere intelligente Lösungen für #SmartMobility by IAV auf der CES 2020, Westgate Paradise Center, Stand 821!